not so Bazar Sábado

Today (Saturday) I stayed in the city and explored some new areas. The week wasn’t all that exciting with work, so I’m very glad to have the freedom to explore for a couple days. First I went to check out this Saturday Bazaar called the Bazar Sábado (why can’t spanish always be this easy??). It’s this market in San Angel ever Saturday where a bunch of painters and artisans come to show off their work. Lots of people, art, and activity. Here are a few pics.

Bazar Sábado

Bazar Sábado

police are pretty ubiquitous in the city, and they have some pretty impressive vehicles. on thursdays when i go out with the couchsurfing group, i walk past an embassy or something on my way home and i see police with machine guns and it really freaks me out, especially since i dont think people really respect the cops here. hmm...

police are pretty ubiquitous in the city, and they have some pretty impressive vehicles. on thursdays when i go out with the couchsurfing group, i walk past an embassy or something on my way home and i see police with machine guns and it really freaks me out, especially since i don't think people really respect the cops here. hmm...

what a delicious hotel! turns out its just a fast food taqueria...too bad. good idea tho for you entrepreneurs (or not..)

what a delicious hotel! turns out it's just a fast food taqueria...too bad. good idea tho for you entrepreneurs (or not..)

Next it was off to a neighborhood called Condesa, which is a pretty upscale, hip part of town. I really liked this area because there was a ton of green areas with beautiful parks. This would be a fantastic area to live–accessible to all the parts of the city but still lots of open space and great restaurants.

the jardineros do a nice job here

the jardineros do a nice job here

not sure if einstein had any connection to mexico, but apparently he does now

not sure if einstein had any connection to mexico, but apparently he does now

oh and i got a receipt for the 3 pesos i spent to use the bathroom at one of the parks...really?

oh and i got a receipt for the 3 pesos i spent to use the bathroom at one of the parks...really?

so this guy on a souped up segway was handing out something like packets of peanut butter to the kids. naturally i wanted some (most of you know i kinda like peanut buter...) i hung around him for a couple minutes but no success..ugh

so this guy on a souped up segway was handing out something like packets of peanut butter to the kids. naturally i wanted some (most of you know i kinda like peanut buter...) i hung around him for a couple minutes but no success..ugh

One of the parks had dogs everywhere running around and swimming. When my parents comes to MC to visit me, I guarantee this is gonna be the only thing my mom cares to see.

dog park!

dog park!

some kid was running laps in this 15x15 wading pool for some reason, and then 4 dogs jump in and break his rhythm

some kid was running laps in this 15x15 wading pool for some reason, and then 4 dogs jump in and break his rhythm

Then it was off to Roma, which is another hip area to live. I prefer Condesa, but it was pretty nice. However, I did have one of the best meals that I can remember for quite some time. I went to this Mexican restaurant called the Tecla (no idea what that means), and it was phenomenal. Pear and goat cheese salad, shrimp and brie enchiladas in a chile poblano sauce, unbelievable flan…i was in heaven. It was kinda weird being waited on by 3 people since it was just me, but I’ll take some royal treatment ever once in a while (most of you probably find it rather unusual for me to spend over 20 bucks on a meal when i could spend 2 bucks on some solid street food…i was pretty surprised too, but it was sooo worth it!) Wish I could’ve taken pictures of my meal but thought it would be weird to do so in a fancy restaurant. Society…

we need traffic lights like this one :-) (its got a smiley face on the green light if you cant see it :-)

we need traffic lights like this one 🙂 (it's got a smiley face on the green light if you can't see it 🙂

taquería out of the back of a pickup truck...cant think of anything that captures the essence of Mexico better than this hehe

taquería out of the back of a pickup truck...can't think of anything that captures the essence of Mexico better than this hehe

Next it was the Museo Nacional de Antropología, which is this massive museum that is known to be one of the best in the world of its kind. I actually am not a big fan of museums, which some people find strange cuz they think I’m somewhat intellectual for some reason (nope). This one, however, was pretty cool. When I left the restaurant I saw this and knew I needed to get to the museum quick to beat the rain (darn you rainy season!)

storms coming

storm's coming

I thought I was gonna make it, but nope. Walking up to the museum entrance it began not just to pour like crazy but also to hail. Fortunately I had my POS umbrella and only the lower half of my body got drenched. Sound bitter? Yes, but something good did come of it.

hail yes

hail yes

So I get into the museum, and in the center there’s this thing called the paraguas, which normally looks like this.

Paraguas

But, lucky as I am to have gotten poured on, this is what the paraguas looked like when I arrived. Note the word paraguas in Spanish means umbrella…makes sense.

but...turns out the rain has a really cool effect. this thing here is called the paraguas, which is umbrella in spanish. its in the center of the museum, and when I saw it I just assumed it always had water falling all the time...nope, just when it rains...makes me happy to be soaked

but...turns out the rain has a really cool effect. this thing here is called the paraguas, which is umbrella in spanish. it's in the center of the museum, and when I saw it I just assumed it always had water falling all the time...nope, just when it rains...makes me happy to be soaked

The museum itself was pretty cool, although the first section on the intro to anthropology was the only thing i could really spend much time on before I got museum ADD. Here’s a couple things I saw. There’s a ridiculous amount of stuff here. It would take days to tour this museum and do it justice.

Lucy

Lucy

the museum said to be one of the best in the world, and it really is spectacular...i mean just look at the intricacy of this piece

the museum said to be one of the best in the world, and it really is spectacular...i mean just look at the intricacy of this piece

yep...you guessed it...very sophisticated

yep...you guessed it...very sophisticated

this exhibit was pretty cool...from one viewing angle you see a face, view it from a different angle and you see the underlying skeleton..orbital surface of the greater wing of the sphenoid bone and all (ah netter)

this exhibit was pretty cool...from one viewing angle you see a face, view it from a different angle and you see the underlying skeleton..orbital surface of the greater wing of the sphenoid bone and all (ah netter)

Another benefit of the rain, you get some pretty sweet views of the mountains surrounding the city after the rain clears the smog haze (but it’s not that bad, really!)

After the museum I went to watch a movie, which was ironically going to be Night at the Museum 2. But the next showing was gonna be in Spanish, so I ended up going for X-Men Wolverine, which was entertaining (and in English yay). All right that’s it. It was a busy day with a ton of walking, and I was pretty tired. Now I’m tired again cuz it takes forever to write this blog posts jeez. Leave me a comment so I know somebody’s actually reading!

Nate

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “not so Bazar Sábado”

  1. Vchau Says:

    Nate,
    I think the street lights sound pretty funny, smiley faces, really? HAH. Anyhow, i particularly like this comment, “Wish I could’ve taken pictures of my meal but thought it would be weird to do so in a fancy restaurant. Society…” I have to say, you should know, there ain’t no shame in taking pictures of your food, especially in another country. You’re just trying to document your adventures…or maybe I just have no shame. Anyhow, sounds like everyday is quite a learning experience for you. Very exciting stuff, buddy boy. OK, long enough comment. Keep writing…at least one person is reading.
    -V


Leave a Reply

